Thing 23: Making it all Work Together

I have often wondered how people manage when they are in charge of running multiple social media accounts for work / on committees but hootsuite seems like a good way around it. I like the fact that you can have separate streams for mentions / retweets/ messages etc.

 

At the moment my personal needs probably don’t justify using a tool like this though I can see how it would be massively beneficial for social media managers. I’ve enjoyed having a flit around checking some of the features out but for me, I like keeping all of my social media accounts separate – in my mind I can distinguish each network as each one is used for a slightly different purpose. Having them all in one place would probably just confuse me!

 

I never really gelled with flip board the first time we explored it in thing 8 so I didn’t bother doing it this time (particularly as it’s public to all and I don’t want my twitter and Facebook mingling). It’s useful to bear in mind for future instances though as I enjoy using twitter and I’d love to do it for a special interest group or committee as I think there’s actually quite a lot of scope for creativity (just look at the Orkney Island Library’s twitter account for an example of this).

 

I can’t believe this is the final “thing”! I just want to thank all of the librarians who have devoted their time to making this a stimulating and educational experience. I’m so glad I made the off the cuff decision to take part as it’s been really rewarding and I’ve learned so many new things.

Leave a Reply

